Day 0: The End.

It’s Finished.

Yes, it’s over.

Nearly three weeks into my last summer ever, and I am finally closing off the discussion of graduation. At least I think this is the end of the discussion but you never know. I may have to pick up my lamenting in a few weeks when I’m missing the fun-filled excitement of college. Though, with the summer I have planned this is highly unlikely.

 

Maybe I was tired of hearing myself whine or maybe all my processing, and whining, throughout the semester really prepared me for graduation. Either way, the day went by with much less emotional turmoil then I expected.

It felt a bit like a fairytale, and by fairytale I of course mean the “this isn’t real” part not the “happily ever after” part being that, while not as sad of an event as I expected it to be it still wasn’t exactly the best day ever. And while I wasn’t curled into the fetal position balling my eyes out, I wasn’t jumping up and down either.

Come to think of it, I actually did jump up and down some.

Shocking, I know.

Don’t worry it was for a picture not due to actual excitement. I haven’t changed that much in three weeks post graduation.

But honestly, the day was so busy and crazy that I didn’t have much time to think about what was going on. Plus, my suitemate Emily, though I don’t think I can call her that anymore seeing as she isn’t my suitemate anymore, my friend Emily and I decided to “fake it till we made it,” aka pretend we are happy so we don’t spend the whole day moping. Which worked out pretty well for me.

I ended up actually enjoying the day.

Miracle!

It will probably sink in when school starts up again and I’m sitting, confined to my office, watching all the new and returning students move boxes in to their home for the year.

And I’m working from my office strategically placed where I can see all the activities, but not participate in them, because I am now a working adult – lame.

Then the fact that the dorms at OKWU will no longer be home will be real.

But no use worrying about it before it gets here.

Look how much I’ve learned!

I spent a whole semester worrying about something before it got here and it got here and it was okay and probably not worth all the worry. How’s that for a life lesson?

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

Leave a Reply

