Day 2: Long Live, With You

Well, there are only two days left. And being that Taylor Tuesday didn’t happen this week, and, since there are only two days left, I decided to turn it into Taylor Thursday because it is important to me to get in one more Taylor inspired post.

And, being that this is the last one – at least while I’m still in college, I decided to make this an intense version of a Taylor post and use multiple songs instead of just one!

I know. Blows your mind, doesn’t it?

There has been one T-Swift song with several lines of lyrics that have been on my heart the last week or so.

The song is called “I’m Only Me When I’m With You,” and the part of the song that gets to me goes like this:

I’m only up when you’re not down.
Don’t wanna fly if you’re still on the ground.
It’s like no matter what I do.
Well you drive me crazy half the time;
the other half I’m only trying to let you know
that what I feel is true.
And I’m only me when I’m with you.

Facing the last few weeks of school, I have really tried to spend quality time with friends, several of which are having an equally difficult time with graduation as I am.

Yes, it is hard for me to be okay with graduation, but I think it is even harder on my heart when I see them sad.

It’s true that they drive me crazy sometimes, but I love them, and it is my time and memories with them that have made me who I am.

I’m me, the really crazy, bossy, giggly version of myself, when I am with them.

And I’m better for knowing them.

I’m less crazy and bossy and giggly, okay I’m still really giggly, but I am less of the bad stuff because of them.

And even when I am the one making them crazy, they still put up with me and love me anyway, which just makes them all the more important to me.

There is just something to be said for those people who see you grow up in lots of important ways. Those people who are right beside you while you figure out how to juggle family, school, and life, while you assert your independence and learn that loving God has nothing to do with your parents but is a choice and a relationship that, as a grown-up, you have to take full responsibility for yourself.

There is something to be said for those people who are there to make all the memories you will never forget, like 80s dress up days, late night conversations, and hours spent at the lake watching the stars.

It’s like another T-Swift song, one I have mentioned before, “Long Live.” This song gets me every time and almost always makes me cry, particularly the line that talks about “fighting dragons with you.”

Coming to the end of my college career, I feel like that is what I have been doing here with all of these people who mean the world to me. We have been fighting dragons. Dragons of hectic class schedules and difficult life circumstances.

Dragons, or obstacles, that have been both good and bad. And here, with these people, we have been fighting them together.

I have had one of the most difficult years of my life this year, but I haven’t been alone. I have had my friends right beside me, fighting with me.

“Long live the walls we crashed through while the kingdom lights shined just for me and you.”

We crashed through walls in our own hearts and lives, with the help of God and His “kingdom lights.” We overcame obstacles and learned important lessons. And we set out on the path to be even more of who God purposed us to be.

And then there is the line:

“I had the time of my life with you.”

This is the truest and most honest statement from any Taylor song ever.

At least true for my heart, and there is nothing more for me to say.

I had the time of my life, fighting dragons with you.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

One response to “Day 2: Long Live, With You

Leave a Reply

