Day 5: The Place That Made Me, Me

The bags are packed
the walls empty
the beds put back where they were meant to be.
Now here I am, up and leaving
the place that made me, me.

How can I say what it was exactly
unless to say it came round gradually,
in moments and memories
and every story that I will tell about
the place that made me, me.

It gave me a chance to be just who I am
to boss around and take command,
to look past the glasses and little girl shell
to a woman God made so perfectly in the
the place that made me, me.

It gave me the courage to take a small chance
that He might have a much greater plan.
That it might be bigger then I ever could dream.
That it started right here in
the place that made me, me.

But this is just a place like any other.
It has walls and rooms and blue sky surround it.
It has little to do with the place that I found it,
but rather that God had his hand all around it,
the place that made me, me.

This place He is Lord, they so often say,
and in my heart that is true today.
It is because He reigns in me
that I can go, and grow, when I leave
the place that made me, me.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

One response to “Day 5: The Place That Made Me, Me

Leave a Reply

