Day 16: To-Do List

It is a sad thing when “Graduation” becomes a headline on your to-do list.

Yes, “graduation” has officially made its way on to my to-do list, right before “homework” and after “bridal shower stuff.”

It isn’t much of a list yet but for me, an addicted to-do list maker, it is bound to get much more detailed.

To Do:

Design invitations

Mail invitations

Pack winter clothes

Take home carload of stuff I haven’t ever used this year and am unlikely to use in the future

Buy dinner for all the people who made graduating possible

Find money to buy dinner for all the people dinner who made graduating possible

You get the idea.

Thus far, there has only been one truly horrible to-do item on this to-do list. And by horrible I mean make graduation feel real and almost make me cry and through a temper tantrum kind of horrible.

The culprit for this horrible reaction: “pick up cap and gown.”

Last week I was forced to pick up my cap and gown by the school’s alumni office. They called it grad fair and had candy and presented it as this happy-go-lucky-yeah-for-graduation moment, which I was, of course, fully against.

My friend Dalynn and I went together to go pick them up and as we reached the bottom of the stairs (the “grad fair” was upstairs in one of our campus buildings) I stopped cold and pronounced, “I can’t do it. I just don’t think I can.”

Dalynn, equally as unwilling to graduate, reached out her hand and said, “hold my hand.” We, like two little girls post-temper tantrum, walked up the stairs to pick up our caps and gowns, both willing ourselves not to burst in to tears in front of all the alumni people who just assumed we were excited to graduate.

Graduation Cap Wearing

Then, in a paradox of emotion that probably makes no sense due to our aversion to graduation, Dalynn and I walked down from the grad fair to the cafeteria for dinner with our graduation caps on our heads.

We even stopped for a photo-op and quite enjoyed our silly costume parading around campus.

That item checked off the to-do list, and the graduation invites almost all finished and in the mail, I am just one step closer to graduation. One step I would much rather turn around and head back in the opposite direction, mind you.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

One response to “Day 16: To-Do List

Leave a Reply

