Day 28: One More Month

Yes, it is officially one month until I graduate. I don’t mean the 30 days has September month. I mean that this day next month, the 14th, I will be walking down the aisle (oh sorry for the bridal reference, it’s an unfortunate side effect of wedding mania: See Wedding Mania {Part 1}, {Part 2}, {Part 3}), crossing the chapel stage, and turning my tassel with all my friends.

The point here is that this time next month I, Rachel Elizabeth Ross, the slightly-mal-adjusted-feet-dragging-please-don’t-make-me-graduate-senior-in-college will no longer be in college.

AHHHHH!!!!

That is exactly how I feel – AHHHHHH! I feel the need to fill in any new readers and let them know that this “A” followed by the keyboard sticking “H” is not a happy term of excitement but rather an expression of sheer panic, dread, and horror.

I simply do not want to graduate.

You know that scene in the Lion King when Timon and Pumbaa meet Nala and find out that Simba and Nala grew up together, then the lions “wrestle” and go off in the jungle to sing to each other in their minds, and Timon and Pumbaa figure out what is going on?

If you don’t remember this scene, it is crucial to the characters of Timon and Pumbaa but also, I fear, a great parallel for the rest of my college days.

T: “I can see what’s happening”
P: “What?”
T: “They don’t have a clue”
P: “Who?”
T: “They’ll fall in love and here’s the bottom, our trios down to two.”
P: “Oh.”

Not only are most of my friends falling in love and getting married, making this scene an obnoxious reminder of that unfortunate fact, but also I can see them all getting excited about leaving and my emotions don’t really mirror those. They mirror the next part of the Lion King.

At the end of that scene, Timon and Pumbaa bust out crying. Their tears are shooting from their eyes in the way only cartoon tears can.

Though I obviously cannot cry gun shot tears like a cartoon I will likely be crying pretty profusely for the next few weeks.

At any moment, I may burst into uncontrollable unnaturally projectile tears with no way to stop them.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

Leave a Reply

