Day 31: Landslide

The other day, following the very happy drive home I experienced about two weeks ago (which I mentioned in a previous post), a song came on the radio just as I was pulling in to school.

Okay, I may have rigged fate a little by searching through stations until I found a song that fit the mood I was in, but it was still on the radio I just had to find it.

And this is what I found.

It’s a song by the Dixie Chicks, actually someone else sings it, but I know the Dixie Chick version and while I am not particularly found of their politics on occasion, I have to say that I love their music. When I found a suitable song to match my feelings I started listening to the words.

“Well, I’ve been afraid of changin’
Cause I built my life around you.”

When I heard these words driving in to school looking around the campus I call home,I realized how true this statement is of my life in regards to OKWU.

I have been afraid of change, afraid of moving on, afraid of what else could happen in my life all because I have built my life around this place.

I’ve built my life around the people I love from here, the opportunities OKWU has provided me, and the sense of belonging that I get here.

I’m not saying this is a bad thing. I know God put me here on purpose and I am so thankful that He blessed me with friends that make it hard to say goodbye and that I have had a chance to figure out who I am and what my gifts are.

But when I heard those words I think they helped me get ready for the change that is about to happen. Change comes at the hand of letting go of the thing, or place, I’ve built my life around.

“[I] climbed a mountain then I turned around
And I saw my reflection in the snow-covered hills
Well the landslide brought me down.”
The song is called “Landslide.” A landslide basically forces you down a mountain causing you to plummet to the bottom, hence the word.

And with the mountains of middle of the semester and Spring Break over, I am unfortunately on the downhill slide of this mountain and being forced to notice the bottom of the mountain instead of enjoying the blind elation of the peak.

So here I am sliding down the mountain picking up speed as I go, scrambling to slow down the process but knowing there is no way to stop, or even slow it down really.

There are a few more lines of the song that I found, when I later read the lyrics, to be appropriate to my life as well.

“But time makes you bolder
Children get older
I’m getting older too.”

As time passes I get older and I get closer to the bottom of the mountain. And as much as I hate it and wish I could stop it I’m sliding down but I am getting bolder also.

The time I have spent at OKWU has made me a much more mature, grown-up, and well-rounded person.

I’m sliding down the mountain along with the landslide but as time makes me older I hope it makes me more prepared.

There is one more line of the song that is perhaps the hope at the end of the landslide and the bottom of the mountain.

“So take this love and take it down.”

I am going to take the love and this place and these people with me as I reach the bottom of this mountain and look out on the rest of my life. And if I take that love with me it doesn’t matter that the mountain has passed or even if it is far in the distance because what I learned, including the love, will go with me long after the landslide.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

Leave a Reply

