Day 46: To Fear or Not to Fear

“This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”
Psalm 118:24

Today is the day the Lord has made, but so is tomorrow, and yesterday, and ten years from now, and four million years from now.

He made all those days.

I’ve spent the last 75 days being afraid of one day, just one. Of all the days in my life I am afraid of one.

May 14, 2011.

But the Lord even made May 14th, and as much as I don’t want it to get here, it will.

I have noticed recently through my own thoughts (as seen above), as well as what I have heard talking to a few of my friends, that there is a lot of anxiety and even fear when it comes to graduation.

I really should have thought of this more before, being that anxiety and fear are basically the premise of this blog, but I hadn’t really thought about it until this week – not consciously anyway.

I have realized in the last week how bad it is for us soon-to-be-graduates to feel this way, afraid I mean.

I’m not saying it is wrong to be nervous or uncertain about the future; I’m talking about the fear.

Fear comes so easy and so natural to us. When change happens we are afraid of it. And don’t you dare deny it you way-too-excited-to-graduate people! You are scared too, you are just masking it with over zealous excitement. Okay, maybe you aren’t scared but you probably are. Hurray if you aren’t. I’m just saying don’t pretend not to be if you really are.

Anyway, most of us are afraid…

Okay, most of the people I know facing graduation are afraid…

Okay…I am afraid.

But the Bible clearly states:

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”
2 Timothy 1:7

“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love.”
1 John 4:18

God does not want us to be afraid.

Believe me, as one who has struggled with fear, particularly in regards to change, I am right there with you, if you are on the afraid-train when it comes to graduation and not the over-zealous-about-graduation-train.

I am just realizing now that there really is no reason to be afraid.

Like I said, God made today and He made tomorrow, and He made seven years from now. (FYI I will be 30 in seven years – lame!) So if He made that day we will be rejoicing in that day also. That isn’t going to change, or it shouldn’t.

And not only did God make today and all the future days but He already knows how it’s going to go. He already knows May 15, 2011 for my life and for yours. He already knows my 30th birthday and what I’m going to be doing come August and how can I be afraid knowing that?

How can I be afraid knowing the God of the universe – who I also have with me at all times –  is the one who made all my days; past, present, and future?

Answer: I can’t. Well, I shouldn’t.

If God is big enough to create all my tomorrows, He is big enough to get me through them as well. Even the 46 tomorrows that get me to May 14th.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

Leave a Reply

