Day 51: Our Song

The Gang

Today’s Taylor day is coming a little early – shock I know. I am finally getting out the Taylor post I’ve been working on for over two weeks now. I just couldn’t get it right before, but with a sudden rush of inspiration it came to me.

The post took so long because instead of just commenting on a Taylor song I decided to re-write one of my own.

“Our Song” has always been one of my favorites and when thinking about this year this seemed like the perfect choice, only the lyrics didn’t seem to fit.

I’ve spent four years building friendships and making memories with the people here at OKWU. We, meaning my friends and I, laugh at the same thing, quote the same movies, and know the ins and outs of who each other are and want to be. Thus, I figured it was about time for us to have a song!

So here is my attempt at the song to encompass the last four years of my life and my love for the people I have shared it with.

I was driving in here
The very first year
In the front seat of my car
I had just one shot then
To make best friends
And now you have my heart
I look around, slow the busy down
And say, “Hey I think something’s wrong.”
It ain’t nothing
I was just thinking
How we don’t have a song
But we say

Our song is our memories
Staying up late, laughin in the hallway
When we tell a joke we talk real low
Cause he’s right there and he don’t know
Our song is the way we laugh
The first day that I missed you
And I should have
And before we go, before we say the end
Asking God if he could play it again

I was walkin back in this place we live after everything that day
Had been all wrong
My heart was trampled on
Just lost and gone away
Got to the hallway
Fell on my way
To the place we live
There you were
Waitin on me
With a smile that said

I’ve tried every friendship, looking for the right one
Waitin for something to come along
That was as good as our song

I was livin out life
With you guys in the place that God sent me
I looked back on our memories
And it was beautiful to me

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

Leave a Reply

