Day 57: Am I Old?

For the last few days I’ve been thinking about how old I am. Yes, I know I’m not really old, but I feel old.

In a few weeks I turn twenty-three. I’m pretty sure last week I was fifteen praying that that year of life could just be over and dreaming of what life would be like at twenty-one, twenty-two, twenty-three.

Twenty-one is long gone and twenty-two is about to be gone with it.

The weird thing is, even though I’ve lived all the years in between fifteen and twenty-three I’m not sure I really remember them. They went by so fast that the reality of being twenty-three doesn’t feel like a reality at all.

I have decided that the problem with being almost twenty-three is that my life is nothing like what I expected it to be at this age. I feel way more immature then I thought I would and I still feel unprepared for life.

I have heard from multiple people in my life that they feel the same way. I have also heard from people older then me, mostly my mother, that this is a more normal feeling then I think.

Since apparently lots of people feel this same way – old when they aren’t – I thought I would share my decision on how to deal with this feeling.

Get over it!

Yes I’m almost twenty-three and yes I’m about to graduate college. No, I’m not as mature as I thought I would be and I have no idea what I’m going to do with my life.

So I’m not anything I expect to be at this age, but oh well!

I am right where God has me and I am going to choose to be content with who I am and where I am in life.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

One response to “Day 57: Am I Old?

  • Ian Whitley

    Very good words of wisdom, Rachel. Again, I am enjoying your outlook on life, and I absolutely agree with what you are saying. As long as you are where God wants you to be, that is what is important. He will bless you for following his will.

Leave a Reply

