Day 60: It’s Not All Fairytale

A few days ago a friend of mine and I were talking about life. We were discussing how sometimes life is hard. This is probably obvious to most people.

Both of us looked back over our lives and thought about all the hard things that happen over a life span.

My friend and I were just discussing little things, not even the really big stuff. For example, I spent almost the entire second grade year out with tonsillitis. I think I had it about six times in one school year. She has been pretty sick with colds for almost six months and the doctors aren’t sure why.

Then add in to life sick siblings, car trouble that always comes right when you have to pay school bills, car wrecks, speeding tickets (not sure why all my examples have to do with cars.)

Then there can be even harder stuff that happens in life: death in the family, cancer or other serious illness, money trouble, and the list can go on and on.

I’m not saying all these things to be depressing or anything like that. It just made me think. Life comes with hard things. It isn’t always roses and fairytales.

While thinking about these hard things and life my friend and I started questioning why hard things happen.

It’s life.

Life isn’t easy.

Stuff happens. Cars break down. People get sick. Money gets tight.

The thing about life, especially the hard times, is that without them why would we trust God?

I don’t mean God makes hard things happen so we trust Him, I just mean He uses all things together for good.

If all of life were roses and fairytales why would we ever trust God?

If we could do everything for ourselves and get everything easily there would be no reason for trust.

Just imagine, you wake up in the morning and go through life and nothing, I mean nothing, ever goes wrong.

First of all, boring! Secondly, then we would be even more self-centered and prideful then we already are.

It is the hard things in life that point us to God.

It’s sort of like the fairytale thing I mentioned before. How could we recognize a fairytale if we never had a nightmare?

It takes us going through hard things to look for something, or someone, to hold on to during the hard stuff.

I’m not saying this makes sickness or car trouble any less difficult but isn’t it worth it to learn to better trust the Lord no matter what life’s circumstances are. Moreover, isn’t easier to trust Him in the big stuff if we trust Him in the small stuff?

“He trusts in the LORD,” they say, “let the LORD rescue him. Let him deliver him, since he delights in him.”

Psalm 22:8

The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.

Psalm 28:7

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

One response to “Day 60: It’s Not All Fairytale

  • Ian Whitley

    Very astute, Rachel, I agree with what you are saying here. Life is like a fine piece of metal work, it cannot be truly beautiful until worked through the fire.

Leave a Reply

