Day 66: Taylor Tuesday

I started a Taylor Tuesday post last week and it took so long I didn’t even get a post up. So instead of continuing with the song I had planned, I decided to work with a different song this week.

In the process of putting off last week’s post – is as per my usual these days – my radio/iTunes kept playing the same song. And for some reason, the same line of the song kept sticking in my head.

The song is “Fifteen.”

First off, let me just say, thank goodness I am no longer fifteen, those where not my best days.

This song is largely about being your own person and knowing that what happens in high school isn’t the be-all-end-all of life. In fact, in the grand scheme of life it really isn’t that important.

Since I’m past that phase of life, fortunately, the part of the song that resonated with my life was just the first two lines:

“You take a deep breath and you walk through the door,

It’s the morning of your very first day”

This line is referring to the first day of high school, but really it could relate to anything new that you might be walking in to i.e. graduation and the rest of life.

There are two pieces of profound wisdom here when facing the “very first day.”

Walk through the door

1) Take a deep breath

Stop. Take a minute, or even just a second, to savor the moments past and prepare for the ones ahead. Stopping to take a breath is sort of like stopping to smell the roses. It means recognizing where you are, and where you’re going. It means stilling any nerves that might be leading towards panic, and just going for it.

2) Walk through the door

Just do it! The future is inevitable. As much as we sometimes try and hope and wish for it not to come, it has to. It is going to come so you may as well take that deep breath and just walk through that door in to whatever God has planned for you.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

Leave a Reply

