Day 76: Fortune Cookie Prophecy

Fortune cookies, the part of your Chinese take-out or in-restaurant dining experience that you anticipate while eating your Kung Pao chicken.

It’s the anticipation factor that makes this the best part of Chinese food.

Okay, egg rolls are actually my favorite part, but fortune cookies are a VERY close second. Oh wait, I forgot about orange chicken. Wow! I love Chinese food.

Anyway, fortune cookies: those little pieces of wisdom that you just pray say something like “You will find the man of your dreams in exactly 2.4 hours.”

Somewhere there is a person, or bunch of people, who comes up with inspirational tidbits that with fit on a tiny piece of paper and inevitably align with some star somewhere to make sure each person gets the exact one relevant to their life.

That never really happens.

I always get the ones that say “You will make a great discovery” or “Always give people a second chance.” Ya, knew that one already.

But yesterday after a fabulous meal with some friends at Pei Wei, I headed for the huge stack of fortune cookies to see what my future held. Or see what ridiculous crack was going to be on that tiny piece of paper that someone way back in history had the idea to put inside a hard cookie.

I grabbed mine with that feeling of this is exactly the one for you. This may sound strange, but I really felt that when I picked it up. It was confirmed when I broke open the cookie, popping one half in my mouth and unfolded the piece of paper. It said:

You are great with words, one day you will write a novel.

How creepy is that!

If you don’t know, it has been my goal, since I was about twelve, to write a novel.  This fortune cookie fortune is something I really hope comes true one day.

If I do one day write a novel it will be at God’s leading and not a fortune cookie’s. But whether or not it will happen is still pretty up in the air.

For now, I’m just going to keep practicing my writing skills right here, for all of you. Happy reading!

“If you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.”
Proverbs 2:3-5

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

5 responses to “Day 76: Fortune Cookie Prophecy

  • seelovegrow

    I love fortune cookies too! I have found a couple great ones in my day…though they are rare and far between. But, that almost makes them that much more enjoyable. I also hope that your “fortune” comes through or maybe rather that God will lead you to write a novel, if you are married by then your husband may be the first buyer, but you better believe I will be next in line!!! 🙂

  • Jarett Blain

    I really like that verse and I think that you should just start writing that novel its never to early to create a master piece! haha

  • Adam C.

    First of all orange chicken at Pei Wei rocks my face! Secondly, you crack me up rachel:), and thirdly it would be incredible for you to complete a novel and I would definitely want to read it!…even if it was a Romance novel;)

  • Patty Ross

    Great posting today. God has great things for your today and all tomorrows…up to and including great writing and yes, maybe a novel. I am SO proud of you!

    Mom

  • Rachel Ross

    Thanks everyone for your comments it means so much to me that you all take time to read this.

Leave a Reply

