Day 77: You Know Better Than I

I was listening to a song yesterday. Actually, I just randomly started singing it in my head, so I looked it up and listened to the words.

I decided, since I didn’t post actual lyrics for Taylor Tuesday, it was acceptable to discuss song lyrics in this post.

Yes, I am aware that I am obsessed with song lyrics, and I am trying to think of my own things to write instead of stealing other people’s work and rehashing. By that I mean I am so not plagiarizing!

The thing about music is it is just so relevant.

Today’s song is one that reminds me of my childhood. It’s a song from a movie I used to love as a small child. Remember Prince of Egypt? Well, it’s not that.

The song is from Joseph King of Dreams, the much less publicized, but, in my opinion, highly underrated movie by the same director or cartoonist or something. Basically it looks the same as Prince of Egypt, but it’s about Joseph and his coat of many colors.

Point being, there is a song from this movie that is fabulous and relevant to my life.

“You Know Better Than I”

Thought I did what’s right
I thought I had the answers
I thought I chose the surest road
But that road brought me here
So I put up a fight
And told you how to help me
Now just when I have given up
The truth is coming clear

Chorus 1:
You know better than I
You know the way
I’ve let go the need to know why
For You know better than I
If this has been a test
I cannot see the reason
But maybe knowing
I don’t know is part of getting through
I tried to do what’s best
But faith has made it easy
To see the best thing i can do
Is to put my trust in You.

Chorus 2
For, You know better than I
You know the way
I’ve let go the need to know why
For You know better than I

Coda:
I saw one cloud and thought it was a sky
I saw a bird and thought that I could follow
But it was You who taught that bird to fly
If i let You reach me
Will You teach me.

(Repeat Chorus )
For, You know better than I
You know the way
I’ve let go the need to know why
I’ll take what answers you supply
You know better than I

Singing this song and reading the words reminds me of how not in control of my life I am, and that that is the best place to be.

No matter what is going on in my life, what decisions need to be made, or what stressors or questions pop up, God always knows better than I do.

Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.
Philippians 2:12-13

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

One response to “Day 77: You Know Better Than I

Leave a Reply

