Day 80: Taylor Tuesday

This weekend I heard the Taylor Swift song “Back to December” way to many times. I love Taylor in general but this is definitely not one of my favorites. I think that is mostly because I have heard it 600 times since it came out. And this weekend was no exception.

Saturday I heard it at least five times, which is a lot for one day.

It wasn’t just because it came randomly on the iTunes shuffle either. Oh no, it was way more calculated than that. The universe was calculating to replay this song over and over everywhere I went, including two stores and a Jamba Juice. Not that I actually think the earth plots to bombard me with Taylor Swift but Saturday it certainly felt like that.

Due to this phenomenon my roommate and I decided to coin a new phrase. I wanted something between déjà vu and serendipity.

Déjà vu being the feeling that you have somehow experienced this same thing before. And serendipity, the title of a rather fabulous movie staring the 80’s brat-packer John Cusack, but also the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way, according to my computer’s dictionary.

Hearing the same song, except when it isn’t your least favorite one of Taylor Swift’s songs, or seeing the same time on the clock every day is a perfect combination of these two things. Thus it needed a name.

After some contemplation and brainstorming we settled on “dejadipity.” Which as defined by me is the blissful repetitiveness of some word, phrase, song, or anything else that is happy or ironic.

I also realized that God is really great with dejadipity. It happens so often that when He is working on something in my heart I hear it or see it everywhere. It’s in the worship set in chapel, the pastor’s sermon, the country song on the radio (for real, this happens) and so much more.

God will teach us in any way He can, whether country song or words out of our best friends mouths. He will use dejadipity to change our hearts, especially when we won’t listen any other way. 

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

Leave a Reply

