Day 82: Epic Fail {#2} and Wedding Mania {Part 2}

Well, it has again been almost a week without a new blog post and I am feeling more behind than ever being that I have to catch up from the week before last and now this week also.

Thus I have decided that the catching up from two weeks ago will go on as scheduled but the last few days are doing to have to do without blog posts if there is any hope of me writing anything new.

So be looking for posts from days 91-90, or something like that, as well as what I hope will be daily posts again starting today.

Today, actually yesterday, marks the second day of Wedding Mania, though it is a much lesser version being that I was basically just a guest at this wedding.

(The guest status changed a little when I got asked to be the cake cutter person. It happens. People know I love weddings and it inevitably leans to me working. Not that I mind in the slightest.)

I have been friends with the groom of this Saturday morning wedding for three years. I actually don’t know the bride at all, which is unusual because most weddings I attend I am much closer to the bride, but it was a great wedding regardless of which one I am friends with.

My favorite part of weddings, thanks to Katherine Heigl in 27 Dresses, a movie too near the reality of my life to be comfortable, is looking at the grooms face as the bride walks down the aisle.

This activity proved specifically satisfying in the wedding I just attended.

Since I know the groom well, I know how much he wants to be married. Yes he wanted to be married to his now bride but also in a general sense he just wanted to be married. He is one of those guys who has dreamed of and planned for his wedding since he can remember, much like most girls who do this.

And knowing this, I knew there was a part of his heart that was being filled in a special and God-designed way as his bride walked down the aisle.

I’m not just talking wanting to married to that specific person. I am talking about a need at the core of ones being to be in a marriage, not a wedding, a marriage. It may sound strange but it is as if there was a specific part of him, and many people, which was designed to be married to another person.

It is like a person being called to be a parent or a nurse. I believe he is called to be a husband and that is the desire of his heart. I know this because I see the same thing in myself.

It was so beautiful to see that part of his heart being filled and getting to be a part of it.

To me, it was a revelation of God’s sovereignty to give us the desires of our hearts and the power and beauty when He fills in a hole in our hearts in the exact way He had planned.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

4 responses to “Day 82: Epic Fail {#2} and Wedding Mania {Part 2}

  • Hannah

    I was there! I did my best to capture his expression when he saw his bride walking towards him 🙂 it was good seeing you!

    • Rachel Ross

      Oh I’m so glad you tried to get it. I can’t wait to see the pictures. I was hoping a few of the would be on Facebook to put in this post, oh well. It was great to see you too and we should probably get together soon because now that I’ve seen you so many times in one week I think I will miss you more if we don’t see each other more often!

      • Hannah

        I agree! We need to hang out soon! I don’t know why we’ve put it off for so long but we should stop procrastinating 🙂 I’m sorry I didn’t have any pictures up yet! I was really busy yesterday and haven’t edited very many yet.

      • Rachel Ross

        I totally understand that and it is perfectly acceptable to be busy! By the way lots of people have seen your wedding pics this week!

Leave a Reply

