Day 92: Airports and Early Mornings {Part 1}

Sunrise from the airport on the way home


It’s Thursday morning, at way to early an hour for this non early bird.

8 am.

Granted right now, at 8, I have been up for two hours, making the description of early correct. Now I am sitting in Tulsa International Airport with no coffee because the line at Starbucks is way to long, making the early hour even more unbearable.

I’m off to a writing conference, The Writing for the Soul Conference put on by the Christian Writers Guild.

It’s a great opportunity for me to meet other writers, practice pitching the things I write, and learn lots about my craft.

This conference also provides an excuse for me to fly and stay in a hotel, two of my favorite past times.

As my friend Megan says, “Staying in a hotel is almost as fun as being in the airport.” My preferences also reflect this statement.

The entire process of flying, from the puzzle of finding the right gate to the moving sidewalks, just gets me excited. And getting to go to places I have never been and explore new things is so thrilling and wonderful.

I remember the weeks before my second time to fly. Every time I drove by the airport I would say, “I love to fly, I love to fly, I love to fly,” and gawk at the airplanes as they flew over the highway. (I still do this actually.)

I have been extremely blessed in the travel department and sitting here in the airport I am as excited as ever!

This is the view from my hotel window. Just one of the many reasons I love hotels!

I travel not to go anywhere,
but to go.
I travel for travel’s sake.
The great affair is to move.

~Robert Louis Stevenson

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

Leave a Reply

