Day 94: Taylor Swift Tuesday

One day last week during the insane amounts of Oklahoma snow and subsequent snow days, some friends of mine and I ended up standing around a dorm room listening to Taylor Swift songs and reminiscing about how relevant they are to different parts of life in past, present, and likely future times.

Based on this event we jokingly decided to start Taylor Swift Tuesday, which I decided would make a nice addition to my blog as T-Swift songs are often so relevant to life.

During this music listening event I heard the song “Long Live” and really listened to the words, maybe for the first time. I unfortunately was told that it is about Homecoming and winning King and Queen, a fact that skewed my ideas of the song.

I decided to push past the connection to high school ritual and look at the song in quite a different context. Graduation.

During the same snowstorm I sat in the lobby of my dorm with some of my soon to be graduate girl friends. We all but cried when we listened to the words of the song.

I still remember this moment
In the back of my mind
The time we stood with our shaking hands
The crowds in stands went wild
We were the kings and the queens
And they read off our names
The night you danced like you knew our lives
Would never be the same
You held your head like a hero
On a history book page
It was the end of a decade
But the start of an age

Long live the walls we crashed through
All the kingdom lights shined just for me and you
I was screaming, “long live all the magic we made”
And bring on all the pretenders
One day we will be remembered

I said remember this feeling
I passed the pictures around
Of all the years that we stood there on the sidelines
Wishing for right now…

Long live the walls we crashed through
All the kingdom lights shined just for me and you
I was screaming, “long live all the magic we made”
And bring on all the pretenders
I’m not afraid

Long live all the mountains we moved
I had the time of my life
Fighting dragons with you
I was screaming, “long live the look on your face”
And bring on all the pretenders
One day we will be remembered

Hold on to spinning around
Confetti falls to the ground
May these memories break

And you take a moment
Promise me this:
That you’ll stand by me forever
But if God forbid fate should step in
And force us into a goodbye
If you have children someday
When they point to the pictures
Please tell them my name
Tell them how the crowds went wild
Tell them how I hope they shine

Long live the walls we crashed through
I had the time of my life with you…

Singing long live all the mountains we moved
I had the time of my life
Fighting dragons with you…

This may be about the popular kids standing on a stage wearing crowns and tiara’s but to me it is a look into the future.

One day when I’m looking back on the time I got to walk across the stage in the OKWU Chapel with all my friends and family watching.

I can see myself now walking across the stage, tears in my eyes thinking back on all the great moments I’ve had here. I’ll be thinking “long live all the walls we crashed through…I had the time of my life making memories with you.”

That is just my first thoughts on this song. I am planning a line by line analysis for further in the semester, closer to graduation, but for now just know, if you are reading this, I had the time of my life with you.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

One response to “Day 94: Taylor Swift Tuesday

  • Elena

    Well, Rach, I guess it was about time for you to make me cry, seeing as how a blog hasn’t made me do that for quite some time now. That is a truly beautiful song because of the way that it can be interpreted. Every time I think about the impending graduation, I cannot help but be saddened by the thought of being left alone at the end of this semester for my senior year that I am unsure of what it will hold but I know that my friends will always be at the other end of the line or on the other side of the chat window. Even though it won’t be the same, it will be the beginning of an age. Love you lots.

Leave a Reply

