Day 98: Tired

Well today we are discussing a common phenomenon of college life. Tiredness.

Right now, I am sitting in the hallway trying to figure out what to write and realizing my brain is far too exhausted to put together anything coherent, lengthy, or thought provoking.

But I did realize that this is pretty normal for most people, especially in college.

I have that tired feeling where my mind is glazed over and my eyes keep going in and out of focus. It isn’t the tired where you can’t sit down for fear of falling asleep. It is more the tired where you can’t think because there is not enough energy in your body to make your mind do anything.

This generally, for me, comes from over brain stimulation. (This may sound scientific but let me assure you it is just an explanatory device and I know very little about the science of tiredness related to brain stimulation.)

My tiredness today is a result of too much worrying, a very long to-do list which plays over and over in my head like a DVD menu with bad music, and five and a half hours of cheerleading for basketball games.

Sometimes it is hard to take a deep breath and sometimes it is harder to just get all the little nit picky things done so they can get off your mind and relieve some tiring stress.

Whatever it is that wears you out, makes you exhausted, and generally tuckers your brain out I have been reminded of today:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6-8

The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him
Psalm 28:7

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

Leave a Reply

