Day 99: He has My Future

Today I was reminded of how good God is with the future.

In my own life God has proven His faithfulness with my future, time and again, by always giving me something better. High school was better then middle school; college is better then high school etc. Also, there are all kinds of verses to support this truth about God.

“The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leavyou nor forsake you. Don not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”
Deuteronomy 31:8

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a future and a hope.”
Jeremiah 29:11

“All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”
Psalm 139:16

But today, this characteristic of faithfulness from God was proven to me in a very tangible and relevant way.

I often whine and worry about the future, particularly the year to come following graduation. There is just so much change that will happen. Most of which is packed between the very short and busy weeks from May 14th, graduation, to July 16th, the last wedding of the summer.

I’m faced with leaving college, friends getting married, and everyone living separately, something I have had little practice with in the last four years, except for Christmas and summer breaks.

Above all, the plain weirdness of not being surrounded by 27, this is a rough estimate, of my closest friends, at all times of the day or night, is frightening.

I love and have come accustom to living near lots of people. I currently have a closet that is multiplied by at least 6 times due to living in a hall full of girls. I always have somewhere to go to borrow clothes – very important. I always have people around to hang out with or talk to. And most importantly, I’m surrounded by people who, for the most part, think like I think, feel what I feel, and believe what I believe.

The thought of this college community being taken away from me in an instant, just by walking across a stage and shaking someone’s hand, is daunting.

So how is this reassuring? How is it evidence of God’s goodness when it comes to the future? Well, I found out today, to my excitement, that I will not be all alone in an instant.

He's got the whole world in His hands

There are five couples that I am close friends with who are getting married this summer. And though I sort of knew this already, today I realized – at the helpful hand of one of these soon to be brides – only one of the couples will for sure be moving away from Bartlesville, Oklahoma. In fact, the other four are more likely then not staying right here.

I myself, unless God does something crazy unexpected – which is of course is possible – plan to also be in or around the Bartlesville area for at least the next year. Or I may be in Tulsa, but that is just an hour away.

Thus, I will not be thrust out on my own with no one I already know or love to hang out with. Quite the opposite. My friends, though most of them will be married, will still be close.

To me, this revelation was an answer to prayer. I have prayed, between fits of worry (which I’m working on repenting of, by the way) that I would not be left all alone in Oklahoma while all the newlyweds and other non-newlyweds go off somewhere else to do whatever it is God has called them to.

I repeat:

“The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Don not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”
Deuteronomy 31:8

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a future and a hope.”
Jeremiah 29:11

“All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”
Psalm 139:16

My friends may stay close. Or, August may come and plans change and they end up living hundreds of miles away. Either way, God reminded me today that He will take care of things. He will provide friends for me, new or old. He will give me direction.

He has my future securely in His capable hands, wherever those hands lead me.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

One response to “Day 99: He has My Future

  • Brooke

    A. I absolutely love your writing style.
    B. I absolutely love what you have to say.
    C. I absolutely love you!
    and D. Will you all promise to come visit me? =)

Leave a Reply

