Day 105

Tonight I had the chance to sit around the dinner table with some of my best friends. It was a wonderful time of talking and laughing, cooking and cleaning.

Being grown ups and doing dishes!

My mother always talks about the importance of sitting around the table or standing in the kitchen just talking. Tonight was no exception. We all helped put the food together and set the table. I decorated the center of the table. Silly yes, but very happy. We made punch and sat around the table with some fabulous food and reveled in our friendship. Or, at least, I did.

Two of my girl friends are house sitting for a couple from school, which, to us means an excuse to not eat in the cafeteria, not that we need much of a reason for that. It also means a place to do dishes beside the bathroom sink and a washer that actually works.

It also means everyone gets together and has a place and reason to share quality time.

Almost every year in college, we have had a house sitting experience. It is generally one of my favorite memories from the year. It’s highlighted by pretending to be a grown up by making dinner and tons of girl talk.

I’m sitting here, in the middle of the living room with a bunch of my girls and smiling to myself about the wonderfulness of my life.

Brooke and I brainstormed wedding invitation ideas for her. She is now on Facebook and singing random country music lyrics. Emily and Tirzah are discussing Tirzah’s wedding plans. Ashley is discovering the recliner hidden in the couch – funny. And the other Ashley is planning a trip to her hometown which will unfortunately fall on the same weekend as senior night for cheerleading where I get to be honored for a sport – never thought that would happen!

I am realizing every day how important it is to savor every moment. Even just the silly little things like lying on the coach and quoting Legally Blonde with a bunch of your girlfriends.

This is a short and sweet post because I’m going to get back to savoring the moment of hanging with my girls. But I just wanted to remind everyone, and myself really, to savor the moment.

Sometimes when we are so worried about the future, or even so excited for it, we miss out on what is going on right here in front of us. And I for one don’t want to miss anything.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

2 responses to “Day 105

  • Emily!

    This is beautiful. I’m so glad we were all together… Thanks for the pancakes Rachel =)

  • Shannon

    I like that, “savoring the moments!” I have to remember to do that…not getting so worked up about the future and what’s coming, but enjoying the precious little moments God blesses us with everyday. Like yesterday, I was studying at panera with my roommate and an elderly woman bought each of us a huge drink and a big m&m cookie!!! Delicious!!! Praise the Lord for His little blessings!

Leave a Reply

