Day 109

Oh T-Swift you did it again!

You know how Taylor Swift has the incredible ability to put your life in a song, or maybe you don’t know this, but you should. I mean she has never met me, obviously, but pretty much every song she has ever written – with the exception of a, dare I say over played, few – describes some part of my life.

So today I was thinking about an event from my life and a song from her new album “Speak Now” came to mind. (Sorry for the reference to song lyrics again. I am trying to stay away from this but it is just so relevant to my life sometimes!)

The song is called “Enchanted” and is apparently about Swift meeting the lead singer of Owl City. I have this on very good authority from a person who actually knows Adam Young of Owl City, which is just cool on it’s own. Really, to me, it’s cool because this person, who I know, knows someone who is the main character in a Taylor Swift song!

The song is about being enchanted to meet someone, hence the title.

Look it's one of the famous me's!

I don’t know if you have ever met a person who, from the second you saw the person, there was no other way to describe it then to say it was enchanting to meet them. There was just something about them and about the moment when you met that just seemed almost fairytale or picture book perfect.

I’m not talking love at first sight here, though I’m sure someone could feel enchanted if they fell in love at first sight, but then again there could be absolutely nothing enchanting about a first meeting of a love.

I think this same enchantment can happen with other relationships besides male/female romantic ones. I’m pretty sure when my younger siblings where born I was enchanted to meet them. A new friend of mine that I just met falls in this category. She is a transfer student to my school this semester. She is just one of those people who love the Lord to their core and it is just nice to know them. Nice, and enchanting. But yes, I’m sure in my life I’ve met boys that I was pretty pumped to meet, a few of which I would categorize as enchanting.

Falling in lines with Swift’s song and the lines, “the lingering question kept me up, 2am, who do you love?” and, “this is me praying that this was the very first page, not where the story line ends.” Sometimes we meet someone and we go 90 to nothing down that brain channel that leads to marriage and family and forever and ever, till death do us part. This is super true for women, I know from experience, though I regret to admit it, but I assume it happens to guys too. I think it is just how we are programmed, from happily ever after fairy tales as kids to the latest Jennifer Anniston romantic comedy. And especially as women we get really discouraged when nothing comes of that wishful happily ever after.

See, fairytale

But what about the enchanted part?

If nothing happens after this first moment of meeting? If it goes nowhere, or even if a relationship stems from this meeting and then it ends? Why not just be happy about the enchanted part?

My mom always tells me to stop trying so hard and just enjoy life. I don’t think I really got that until today. Whether it is in meeting an enchanting new person, or just in life, why not just enjoy the current wonderfulness of a moment? By definition, according to my computer and its handy dandy dictionary, enchanted means to fill a person with delight. And that is a great thing even for just an evening or a day.

Moreover, is this not our job as Christians? Shouldn’t we, living our life as God’s children, show His light to others and make them feel full of delight and curious as to where that delight, that enchantment, came from?

“You became imitators of us and of the Lord, for you welcomed the message in the midst of severe suffering with the joy given by the Holy Spirit. And so you became a model to all the believers in Macedonia and Achaia. The Lord’s message rang out from you not only in Macedonia and Achaia—your faith in God has become known everywhere.”

1 Thessalonians 1:6-8

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

3 responses to “Day 109

  • lakesidegirl

    This is my favorite Taylor Swift song.
    though personally, my favorite lines are
    “please don’t be in love with someone else, please don’t have somebody waiting on you.” And internally, I sometimes add “please don’t be 18, please don’t be 18,” because I have a hard time telling how old young men are.
    I like how you applied it to meeting all kinds of people, not just young men that catch our eyes. Wouldn’t it be delightful if people would be enchanted with us and always see Jesus. I hope so.
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

