Day 119

Comfort food, be it grandma’s macaroni and cheese, mashed potatoes, a cold bowl of cereal, southern fried chicken, or an entire pan of homemade brownies, is something almost every college student knows well, and misses.

Just think about it. It is rare to get grandma’s macaroni and cheese during the four years of college, at least for me it was. And even though the imitation shell in a single serving bowl tries hard to take the place of this comfort food it just isn’t the same.

Comfort food is that food that you turn to, though you know you probably shouldn’t because comfort food is by nature bad for you, when you had a crazy busy and stressful day or are just feeling a little homesick and need a reminder of your childhood.

Oh by the way, please don’t assume I’m talking about a gluttonous addiction to mashed potatoes because that is not what I’m getting at, at all. I’m just saying that sometimes there is something about that food you’ve eaten since you where little that just makes your heart smile.

For me, there are two foods that top the list in the comfort food category. And this last week, the week before I came back to college, I had both.

The first is a food few of you have probably heard of, except maybe my sister and those chosen and special few who I have made this meal for. It is called eggs a la golden rod. Sounds crazy, I know, but it is fabulous!

You can tell by the “!” which I try to use as sparingly as possible for moments just like this, when I need extra emphasis.

Eggs a la golden rod is a breakfast food actually, but it is best served for dinner or a 2 am snack as I discovered last week. It consists of a gravy like sauce with chopped hardboiled eggs in it, lots of salt and pepper, and is served over toast – which you MUST rip in pieces before covering with the “golden rod.”

My grandma made this for my dad and his sisters when he was young and it has since carried on into my family and is definitely one of my favorites. But the other of my coveted comfort foods is a sweet to the breakfast foods savory.

This dessert is an invention of my mother and I and is called Super Duper Everything Cookies. Yes, that is the official name, I know, because I picked it out. These cookies are a combination of my granny’s oatmeal cookie recipe with butterscotch and chocolate chips added, with a walnut option for those who don’t have a roommate who is allergic to nuts.

(I just realized that it sounds like I am writing a food blog, accidental, but trust me I have a point.)

This weekend I made these cookies (which may I mention are WAY better in dough form then cookie form) because I just had a sudden craving for them. My mom asked me why I was making them and the only answer I came up with was, “because I just need to eat them.”

I had been sitting at the kitchen table for my last dinner with the family before returning to school and before I got up I just thought, wow, I would really like some super duper everything cookies. So I made them. When I came toting them into school, after eating my body weight in cookie dough the day before, I felt very satisfied to have this piece of home with me. It made me, and all my friends living around me in the dorm, very happy.

So what is the point of this rant on comfort food besides making you hungry?

Well, I realized how often we turn to comfort food or television or even talking to our friends, none of which I’m saying are bad, when we are dealing with emotions that we don’t know how to handle.

I wasn’t even thinking about emotions, or even the end of school, or anything when I was making cookies. I just knew I wanted them. Then I realized what was going on. I was nervous and sad and maybe a little scared about school but I wasn’t thinking of any of that while I was making cookies.

The thing to remember here is, like I said, none of these are bad and I believe God puts things and people, especially friends, in our lives to help us deal with hard things, but He wants us to go to Him first.

Moreover, when we try to fill that hurt with food, or whatever it is for you, we are not allowing God to do His job nor are we even dealing with the emotions going on inside of us. It is better to deal with the feelings then push them down. Believe me, I know because I often do this.

And with school about to end I often hear others talk about their fears and have fears of my own but more than anything I think God is wanting to teach me how to really rely on Him now before life gets really crazy.

Now every time I look at a Super Duper Everything Cookie I will remember that God is there for me even when there are no cookies or comfort food.

“Therefore do not worry, saying ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”
Matthew 6: 31-34

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

6 responses to “Day 119

Leave a Reply

