Day 121

Today was the first day of my final semester of college. It is officially only 121 days until I graduate. In 121 days, I will be leaving the university I have spent the last three and a half years at, the majority of which have been spent in college bubble bliss.

Basically, I am one of those extremely cliché people who will forever say that college was the best years of my life. Yes, I am only 22 and have yet to see most of the years of my life, but I am fairly certain this will be a true statement even when I am grown. More grown than I am now I mean.

The thing is this 121st day marks the end of an era for me, so to speak.

In a few short months, I will be tossed out into the real world. Not to say, for any of my professors reading, that I am not entirely prepared for life, but well, I am no where near prepared for life. Or, at least, that is how I feel.

I admittedly spent college making friendships that will last a lifetime and sort of figuring out who I am. But when I think about the future, I’m not sure what it will look like, how I will handle it, or what I will even be doing.

One of my professors always tells me that the time between age 18 and 24 has the most change of any time in life, and I am stuck right in the middle of that.

This year is going to be marked by a million questions of: “What are you going to do with your life?” “How are you going to pay for college?” “Will you be my bridesmaid?” And likely it is going to majorly stress me out at moments, make me sentimental other days, and make me laugh as much as possible.

So, if you are reading this and are in a similar situation where you are, either feeling inept to deal with change or about to embark on something in life that you can not even imagine, must less plan for, then I hope my words will help you, or at least make you laugh.

About Rachel Ross

I am a college student facing the last semester of college before I am thrust, unwillingly and fairly unprepared, into the real world. View all posts by Rachel Ross

4 responses to “Day 121

  • Shannon

    You are a brillant writer! I loved reading your feelings about the coming years…because I definitely know exactly how you feel. Though I am not graduating until next December, I too find myself asking questions like, “what are you doing with your life, Shannon?” or “what now?” Through it all…I am learning to live in each moment and take advantage of the time I am given each day. Each day offers its own trials and blessings but for all these things I am thankful. Simply being able to live and breathe today is enough to be thankful for! You are such an inspiration and I am proud to call you my sister and best friend! I love you!

  • Amy Martin

    Hey! I’m right there with you! Unprepared, excited, figuring out who I am for sure… And I like the 18 to 24 comment, that means I’ve still got a year! I love what you wrote, you put what I’ve been feeling into words! And better than I could have lol. Good luck on your last semester. Enjoy it! And go wherever God leads you! 🙂

    • Rachel Ross

      Thanks Amy! That is exactly my goal. To put down my feelings and hopefully help people make better sense of their feelings or at least say something that they relate too. Keep reading and I hope to hear more comments from you in the future!

Leave a Reply

